Primary School Curriculum

The primary school curriculum adheres by the Education Act 1990. The curriculum for the primary years consists of six learning areas. The content of these learning areas is contained in six syllabuses and several curriculum-related policies.

Teachers design learning experiences to help students achieve the syllabus outcomes, which are described in stages that relate to years of primary schooling:

  • Early Stage 1 – Kindergarten
  • Stage 1 – Years 1 and 2
  • Stage 2 – Years 3 and 4
  • Stage 3 – Years 5 and 6

Teaching and learning in the primary years, as well as assessing and reporting student achievement, are based on the learning outcomes and curriculum content specified for each key learning area (KLA). The six KLAs of the primary curriculum are:

  • Creative and Practical Arts
  • English
  • Human Society and Its Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education
  • Science and Technology